Faith · Happiness · Health & Wellness

There is a Silver Lining

silver-lining“Difficulty is an opportunity to get stronger, to develop character, and to gain a greater trust in God. Anybody can fall apart, anybody can get bitter—that’s easy—but that’s wasting your pain. That pain is not there to stop you, it’s there to develop you, to prepare you, and to increase you.”

Joel Osteen posted this on his Facebook page the other day. It was a day that I really needed to hear it. As much as I try to keep a positive outlook, some days are harder than others. I had a cold with terrible sinus congestion which knocked me down and drained almost every ounce of motivation I had for maintaining my daily routine. With the help of my husband, hot water with lemon & honey, and reviewing some faith-based teachings, I was able to get back on my feet.

Then I read Joel’s message and my passion for self-care was reignited with a determination to blog about my successes – and my struggles. I remembered the day I woke up with the epiphany that the chronic pain I have been enduring was making me stronger internally, even when I feel weak and fatigued physically. I resolved that day to use my strength to inspire others.

Every thing happens for a reason.  There are no coincidences in life.

If you take some time and think back to all the random people and unforeseen circumstances that have influenced the course of your life, you will realize that there are way too many to choke up to happenstance. In the moment, it is impossible to know the meaning of each chance encounter. But upon reflection, the significance becomes clear if you have faith that life is a journey with an itinerary designed by a higher power.

There is a Yiddish saying, Der mentsh trakht un got lakht.  Man plans and G-d laughs.

When you find yourself losing enthusiasm and wallowing over the sorrow of not being able to do the things you wanted to or had planned to do, then maybe the path you had envisioned wasn’t meant to be. There may actually be something else, something you had never imagined, in store that is way better than Plan A.

Well if that’s the case, then how do I figure out what Plan B is? The key is to keep a positive outlook.  By pushing away negativity, you allow your true self – which is really the spark of G-d – to flourish. Do what feels right. You’ll know you are on the right track when you discover the thing that gets you excited to get out of bed in the morning. For someone with fibromyalgia, that’s definitely worth striving for.

I leave you with a quote from another wonderful role model….My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.          -Maya Angelou

 

 

Leave a Reply

